Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: .rhosts and rsh command
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers .rhosts and rsh command Post 29054 by ganti on Saturday 28th of September 2002 11:15:58 AM
Old 09-28-2002
Please check the /etc/inetd.conf

All the ftpd,rshd,telnetd entries are made in that file

This entry should be there in the HOST machine

Most probably the rshd portion is commented..

Some SYSADMINS won't allow rshd for security reasons

If you can change that file remove the comment portion

Cheers

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Rsh command

Newbie here, I want to add a line to our 3D rendering scripts that will send an email to the animators once a scene has finished rendering. The 3D scripts are on the client hosts and the sendmail setup on the server. I tried using a rsh line in the script as follows rsh root@blah echo... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: flamethrower
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

rsh command

Hi, I'm performing a data migration from an Ingres db to an Oracle db. The ingres database lives on a unix host running "UNIX(r) System V Release 4.0 (SunOS 5.5.1) ", while the Oracle database lives on another unix host running "SunOS 5.8". Part of the migration is to remotely run Oracle's... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: strpeski
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

RSH command

Hello, I am trying to determine 2 things on a remote host. 1. Is file a directory or file 2. Does the file or directory exist Not too familiar with "find" command although I believe that may be a possible way. I have tried: remsh "$HOST" test -e /home/test.script && echo "yes" This... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: bestbuyernc
3 Replies

4. Red Hat

rhosts file...