Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting using tab to finish command line parameter Post 28607 by hassan2 on Friday 20th of September 2002 03:23:02 PM
Old 09-20-2002
you need to be korn shell environment.

To be in korn shell environment issue
ksh

then set vi by issue

set -o vi

Now you should be able to use the ESC key followed by - key
to display the previous type word or use could use ESC key followed by k key

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Command Line width parameter

can someone please tell me how i can increase the number of characters that can be input on the command line? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Scoogie
2 Replies

2. Programming

Command line parameter for C program

I am writing a C program that part of the idea is to using a command line parameter to control not to run certain part of the sub program. I am totally new to C, I do not have any idea how to pass a command line arguments from a C program. Can anyone help ?! Thanks (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Wing m. Cheng
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

insert pipe in the finish of the line

hi, i have a flat file, with lines (records), and fields, and each field is separated by pipe ( | ) : 1|078|012006|3,9 2|078|012006|8692275|4|2|GON3507090 2|078|012006|7655734|9|0|GON3507090 2|078|012006|7572405|5|4|GCR5N07090 what i need is to insert a pipe in the end of the line:... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: DebianJ
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

replacing a string in a file with command line parameter

Hello, I am trying to replace a string with a paramter given along with the script. I am replacing application1 to application2 with the script: ./change_app.sh application2 change_app.sh: #!/bin/ksh grep $1 applications.dat 2>&1 >/dev/null echo $1 file=pckage.new sed 's/Name:... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: chiru_h
5 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting