Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: FTP connection problem
Special Forums IP Networking FTP connection problem Post 27093 by cassy on Tuesday 27th of August 2002 05:32:59 PM
Old 08-27-2002
The subnet range was in the host.allow, typed in the ip address of the client that was failing. Still no response, it connects to the port 21 and receives a message that "host lost connection". There is no deny.allow file.

When looking at DHCP, if I grab an i.p. address out of the range of ip address that has not been assigned by DHCP and hard code it into my workstation I can connect with no problem. But if I set DHCP up to send the i.p. by reserving the mac address it fails. Is there some type configuration in Unix that can distiquish if an I.P. address was sent via DHCP. As you can tell I am not a Unix expert just a beginner. But I appreciate all the response you are giving.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

FTP connection problem on new server

Solaris Server (V880) version 8 Brand new box just installed O/S, what do I need to do in order to get FTP working. I have updated the /etc/hosts.equiv file Problem - When trying to ftp to the server I get a login incorrect message, this is with the root user. Are there some... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: miredale
1 Replies

2. Cybersecurity

FTP Connection

I just started a new job and inherited a Fedora core 3 server. I wanted to open the ftp ports and I wanted to verify this code before I mess things up. From my reading the two lines below should allow ftp access can anyone confirm my attempt. iptables -A INPUT -p tcp - sport 21 -m state - state... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: mungaz
0 Replies

3. Solaris

ftp connection problem

Hi all, i am not able to connect the ftp through userA. Can you please tell me what are the possible ways to troubleshoot this issue? Regards krishna (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: krishna176
2 Replies

4. SCO

ftp connection