Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Newbie on Solaris 8
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Newbie on Solaris 8 Post 2514 by Neo on Thursday 17th of May 2001 09:58:24 AM
Old 05-17-2001
Hardware compatibility means there is supported kernel code available, but that does not mean that the kernel driver code has been compilied into the core kernel. Some systems allow kernels to grab modules as required, but these modules must be compiled too!

No, you can't user SCO or Linux driver code with your Solaris systems. Kernel code is very specific and is generally platform specific. This is also true for device drivers.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

Solaris - Newbie need help

Hi everybody. Sorry my English, first. Im a Solaris newbie. I want to learn Solaris. I've a Solaris 9 CD. I try to setup into my PC (Dell, PIV 2.8GHz, RAM 256Mb, HDD 40Gb), but it can't boot from the CD? What will I do to make it bootable and start the installation. Please tell me the format of... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: imyourfriend
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Solaris netstat. Newbie.

Hi, I currently have two processes running on my Solaris server that are hogging the cpu. I am confident that these two processes are caused by remote users logged into the oracle database on the server. What I need to know is how to get the corresponding ip address associated with the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: gwhelan
2 Replies

3. Solaris

Installing en_US.UTF-8 on Solaris 10. Newbie.

Hi, I am looking to install en_US.UTF-8 on to a solaris 10 Sparc server. Is it possible to install this character set from the iso image? I have an iso image only (sol_10_u.iso) on CD. I have used the command below but with no success. Any pointers to get this installed would be greatly... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: gwhelan
5 Replies

4. Solaris

Solaris newbie, need help