Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting sed : Making changes in the same file Post 24725 by isacs on Wednesday 17th of July 2002 04:21:43 AM
Old 07-17-2002
Hi,

IMHO there´s no way to work without any tmp files, cause if you redirect the STDOUT to abc.txt the (empty) file is created before sed can read it. So sed is reading an empty file!

but what is the problem working with a tmp file?

I tried out this an it works fine.

sed 's/abc/xyz/g' abc.txt>xyz.txt;mv xyz.txt abc.txt

Hope this meets your affords.

greetz,
Frank

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Making Changes without opening file

Hello, I'm new to scripting, I have a file test.dat. I want to make changes to it with out openning it. Example: test.dat has rows, and I want to change value "LA" to "TX" without opening it or without writing it to another file. Is it possible? Thanks (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: irehman
9 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

SED is making my head-hurt...

Hi all! Shell-scripting n00bie here... I'm having a terrible time getting my head around how to use the sed command & could really use some help. Basically, I'm trying to use sed to remove all characters of a line up to a '<' character within a text-file. It would be spectacular if there... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: mxedit10n
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Making substring with sed

Input: You can easily do this by highlighting your code. How can i get the substring from index 9 to 12 using sed? (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: cola
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

non alpha characters in sed + making it fast?