Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Windows Binaries
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Windows Binaries Post 23257 by Kelam_Magnus on Wednesday 19th of June 2002 02:50:05 PM
Old 06-19-2002
It's not a stupid question, just a slightly humorous one.

Let me give a few answers to this question. I am not an expert on this topic, but I have decent understanding of it.

First, UNIX was created way before Gates ever thought about creating/buying/stealing the Windows OS. ( somewhat sarcastic here!). Gates was trying to establish a market for his concept of a PC for everyone, capturing marketshare for HIS product, and UNIX was not exactly user friendly back in the 80's.

Second, the Microsoft OS is closed source, meaning that you probably have to get permission to develop software for Microsoft OSs. Also, all proprietary UNIX flavors have the same conditions.

Third, Unix and Microsoft are extremely different animals. Microsoft until recently is basedon the MSDOS structure. UNIX is based/written on the C programming language. Two very different languages. Like comparing Apples and Elephants...

The short answer is that Gates wouldn't give away his garbage without a licensing agreement. Also, I am not sure that the Windows binaries would even run on a UNIX based system.

Although, now we are getting closer. OS X is based on Darwin which is UNIX. Windows 2000 is also using a kernel which has some UNIX parts to it.

Maybe someone else can give a more detailed answer here.

Smilie Smilie

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

how to create freeBSD binaries in Linux or Windows

I have a trouble: i cannot install and use freeBSD for some reasons(have no computer now, and comps on my work are Windowsed), but I need to compile some UNIX sources for freeBSD(this one: http://ppcpp.sf.net/). What can I do? Are there a compilers, that can run in Windows, but can compile binaries... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: szzz
3 Replies

2. Solaris