Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: ports and services
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers ports and services Post 21633 by thehoghunter on Monday 20th of May 2002 05:20:26 PM
Old 05-20-2002
You can also use SUNLite - a 'firewall' product that gives you a GUI interface to turn off services along with logging. It is free with the Solaris 8 edition.
thehoghunter

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

inet services, open ports etc

When I scan my linux box for open ports, i have several of them, but they shouldn't be open. I removed the lines for them in /etc/services, and left just stuff like telnet, ssh, ftp. Why are they still open? I've restarted the network, and I've even restarted my box, but they still apear as open.... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: sTorm
4 Replies

2. IP Networking

ports???

Ok, I've been working in the IT field for about 3 years now and I never fully understood the concept of ip ports. I just started a new job that uses Solaris and today it kinda clicked in my head and I want to know if I'm right or wrong. Does each ip address have multiple ports. because we... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: eloquent99
4 Replies

3. IP Networking

Ports

What are some good sites that list all TPC/UDP ports? ~thanks (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ireeneek
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Ports...

Hello UNIX people... This is my first foray into the UNIX world so go easy on me... I have a client who has hired me to do some work on his windows stuff, BUT it just so happens his UNIX server started giving him problems... He is running SCO Open Server 5.0.6 The TTY ports won't... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: TechKnow
5 Replies

5. Solaris

ports