Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting mailx in cron using variable date Post 20256 by seaquin on Tuesday 23rd of April 2002 03:29:53 PM
Old 04-23-2002
mailx in cron using variable date

I am using a popular HOSTUMP script that dumps successfully to a log file named

servername_a_`date +%m%d%y`.log

I then want to kick off a second cron job that will email me that log. I am assuming it has to be something like

00 07 * * 2 mailx -s 'SERVERNAME Tape A Weekly Backup Log' whomever@somewhere.com <! `cat /vol4/admin/logs/servername
_a_`date +%m%d%y`.log`

I am pretty new to this (obviously) Can anyone provide a little guidance? Maybe it is just easier to do this in the script itself? Thanks!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Using Variable As Input For mailx

All, I'm having difficulty using a variable as the body of an e-mail; I suspect it has to do w/quoting, but am not sure. Right now I have separate functions for sending information and for sending errors. I'd like to set a variable (BODY) to use as input to mailx so I can have a generic function... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: GregWold
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

convert date variable to doy variable

Hello: I have a script that requires the use of DOY (as a variable) instead of YY/MM/DD. I already obtained these parameters from downloaded files and stored them as variables (i.e. $day, $month, $year). Is there any simple script that I could incorporate in mine to do this job? Regards, ... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: aabrego
8 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to check date variable according to the current date?

Hi folks, I need to write a script that should activate a process according to the current hour. The process should be activatet only if the hour is between midnight (00:00) and 07:00. How should I create the condition? Thanks in advance, Nir (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: nir_s