Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Linux DNS
Special Forums IP Networking Linux DNS Post 2023 by alwayslearningunix on Friday 13th of April 2001 08:03:42 PM
Old 04-13-2001
Data

I really need help here.

I am trying to sort out dns on a linux machine, but no matter what i do it just doesnt seem to work. I am sorting out dns for a domain, but even after putting the entries in /etc/named.boot for the localhost nslookup to work, referencing the correct file in /var/named - it still says server failed when I try to do a nslookup on the domain.

I have tried editing named.boot and the actual domain zonefile in /var/named in numerous ways, but it just doesnt work, Im pulling my hair out here!!

Can someone help me, i must be missing something somewhere.

Regards

alwayslearningunix

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

DNS Name Server Problem on Linux

I'm very new to all of this, so I apologize in advance if my post comes off incoherent, or terms aren't used correctly :rolleyes: Using Fedora Core 2, I set up am internal DNS name server. After setting up the named.conf, and the localhost files I was able to correctly resolve my host name... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: skeet23
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

LINUX 9 IPTABLES and DNS

I have installed a linux 9 router/firewall and have issues with outside DNS queries making it in. here are my IPTABLE rules, can anyone make some suggestions? ETH1 is my outside facing Interface, ETH0 is my inside facing interface. Accept If input interface is not eth1 Accept If protocol is... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: frankkahle
1 Replies

3. Linux

LINUX 9 IPTABLES and DNS