Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: basic networking
Special Forums IP Networking basic networking Post 19896 by shadieshad on Wednesday 17th of April 2002 06:18:20 PM
Old 04-17-2002
yeah if you're running them peer then you don't need a gateway this is problem where your problem lies because the information is being sent to a gateway address that doesn't exist
ip address and the subnet mask should be all you need for these two computers to comm.
if you're gonna use a gateway address the you need a gateway like a router or another box with two nics

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Slackware

Basic networking questions.

Hey, I'm new to Linux. I have a few questions about it. I run Slackware. After the installation the Linux installation had problems with my old hardware (network card, sound card) so I removed them and Linux would start. But now, I can't seem to use the network card in Linux because it's not... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: RellioN
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Basic networking setup in unix

I have a SunOS 5.8 box and have always downloaded & applied patches via my PC, but I want to be able to go out to sunsolve directly from the console ... however, I guess it doesn't know the IP of our domain's DNS server or something. Where are these setting held on a Sun box??? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: FredSmith
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

how ..........networking

hi everyone this is dipendra, i am interested in networking,i know simple socket programming . and now i am wonder to get in to audio socket. i have no clue how to build audio socket.so i am looking if u can provide me a link regarding the audio socket building tutorials. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: dipendra_regmi
1 Replies

4. IP Networking

C networking