Sponsored Content
Special Forums News, Links, Events and Announcements Flaw leaves Linux computers vulnerable Post 19227 by PxT on Monday 8th of April 2002 12:16:21 PM
Old 04-08-2002
Quote:
Originally posted by jacx2
That is a threat at this time however I think that in the next version of Linux (Version 7.3 i think) Linus Torvalds (The creator of Linux) will have some sort of defence against it.
We'll have to wait and see
a) The flaw has nothing to do with the kernel version (and therefore nothing to do with linus). It is in a commonly used user-space library.
b) The flaw has already been fixed by the major vendors. Updated versions of affected packages are available immediately from RedHat, Debian, Mandrake, etc.
c) RedHat != Linux. The next RedHat version will (probably) be 7.3. The next linux (kernel) version will be 2.4.19

2 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

vsftpd fatal flaw - can C help

I am not a C programmer, so I was hoping someone can help with the following: vsftpd is programmed in C, but it has a fatal flaw whereby uploads can be copied by Samba before the upload is complete (this includes the latest vsftpd daemon) This is because vsftpd does not support file locking, unlike... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jhod22
2 Replies

2. Red Hat

How do I network a Suse installed machine with other computers, specifically Red hat Linux?

How do I network a Suse installed machine with other computers, specifically Red hat Linux? This is for a school project, and I can't find any pages that tell how to network a Suse to other computers except how to use a printer. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Anna Hussie
1 Replies
LINUX(4)                                                   BSD Kernel Interfaces Manual                                                   LINUX(4)

NAME
linux -- Linux ABI support SYNOPSIS