Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users fsck command - what does it check/repair?? Post 19062 by PxT on Friday 5th of April 2002 11:17:10 AM
Old 04-05-2002
it checks inodes as well as other file-system structure details. I do not believe it does a physical scan (i.e. bad blocks), although that may depend on your particular OS version. At least under linux there is a separate tool for this (which can be called by fsck if you pass a certain flag)

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

File System Check (fsck)

I am having a problem with fsck. I am new to UNIX but was placed in a position where I must learn it. Anyway, one of the instructions that I have been given is to use 'fsck -f -y' when I am having trouble with the filesystem. The problem is that I am getting an error message that says the -f... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mawalton
1 Replies

2. HP-UX

fsck! How to run Full File System Check

Dear all I am new for HP-UX. I have HP rp2470 running HP-UX 10.x When i run fsck in a root, the output is as below: #:root> fsck fsck: /dev/vg00/rlvol1: mounted file system continue (y/n)? y ** /dev/vg00/rlvol1 ** Last Mounted on /stand ** Phase 1 - Check Blocks and Sizes ** Phase... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: hungevntelecom
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to repair DNS

I am using Mac OS X and my server keeps crashing every several hours or so. I have checked the log file at /var/log/system.log and the entries closest to the crash read Mar 15 22:27:23 server servermgrd: servermgr_dns: no name available via DNS for 192.168.84.21 Mar 15 22:27:23 server... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: timgolding
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

fsck command

can somebody tell me what exactly fsck command does ? please dont post the man page for it I already read it (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: anandgodse
3 Replies

5. Solaris