Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: File Permissions in Mac OS X
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers File Permissions in Mac OS X Post 18567 by chenly on Saturday 30th of March 2002 01:06:41 PM
Old 03-30-2002
Data more...

Did you try editing a copy of the file, and then replacing the original with the edited version? If so, I'm out of suggestions except for booting up from OS 9 and editing the file with SimpleText.

6 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. HP-UX

To give the "unzip" permissions & "create" file permissions

Hi, I am a Unix Admin. I have to give the permissions to a user for creating new file in a directory in HP-Ux 11.11 system since he cannot able to create a new file in the directory. Thanks in advance. Mike (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Mike1234
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Retain file permissions when saving .sh file from internet [OS X]

Hello. I have written a bash script that I am sharing with an OS X community I am a member of. The purpose of the script is to execute a series of commands for members without them having to get involved with Terminal, as it can be daunting for those with no experience of it at all. I have renamed... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: baza210
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

ksh; Change file permissions, update file, change permissions back?

Hi, I am creating a ksh script to search for a string of text inside files within a directory tree. Some of these file are going to be read/execute only. I know to use chmod to change the permissions of the file, but I want to preserve the original permissions after writing to the file. How can I... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: right_coaster
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Changing file permissions of a file created by another user