Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: File Permissions in Mac OS X
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers File Permissions in Mac OS X Post 18558 by liveapple2000 on Friday 29th of March 2002 11:31:49 PM
Old 03-30-2002
File Permissions in Mac OS X

On my Mac OS X machine, I would like to edit the httpd.conf Apache configuration file. When I open the file up in TextEdit or even VI, I get an error that there was an error saving the file. I tried "su root" and that still does not work. I heard that the "chown" command can change the file permissions but I come from a Microsoft Windows background and I do not know how to use this command, so could someone please post a reply to this message that has instructions on how to change the permissions? Thank you for your time.

6 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. HP-UX

To give the "unzip" permissions & "create" file permissions

Hi, I am a Unix Admin. I have to give the permissions to a user for creating new file in a directory in HP-Ux 11.11 system since he cannot able to create a new file in the directory. Thanks in advance. Mike (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Mike1234
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Retain file permissions when saving .sh file from internet [OS X]

Hello. I have written a bash script that I am sharing with an OS X community I am a member of. The purpose of the script is to execute a series of commands for members without them having to get involved with Terminal, as it can be daunting for those with no experience of it at all. I have renamed... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: baza210
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

ksh; Change file permissions, update file, change permissions back?