Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: verify ftp status is "good"
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting verify ftp status is "good" Post 18440 by thehoghunter on Thursday 28th of March 2002 11:02:14 AM
Old 03-28-2002
I'm betting that because you are putting all the information into a variable, that it is all one line - since you are counting how many LINES have the successful transfer, it's only 1 everytime (although there are two occurances in the one line).

The other problem is if you ftp to a site that has a huge banner before you ever do a login, all of that is saved into your variable. Possible that you would overload it and your script would bomb out and you would never know why.
thehoghunter

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Good unix "for lamers/beginners" book?

Im pretty new to unix, as you can probably tell. Anyway I want to get a book on unix and howto use it. I would like to get a book that goes from the very basics to the advanced things that unix can be used for, does anyone have any suggestions?? (16 Replies)
Discussion started by: MadProfessor
16 Replies

2. Solaris

"Error for Command: verify"

I have a raid 5 configuration in a A3500 rack, manager by raid manager. This morning I found this messages in a /vad/adm/messages": Sep 10 04:33:57 zion scsi: WARNING: /sbus@3,0/SUNW,socal@2,0/sf@1,0/ssd@w200200a0b80735d3,4 (ssd11): Sep 10 04:33:57 zion Error for Command: verify ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: bonovox
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Explain the line "mn_code=`env|grep "..mn"|awk -F"=" '{print $2}'`"

Hi Friends, Can any of you explain me about the below line of code? mn_code=`env|grep "..mn"|awk -F"=" '{print $2}'` Im not able to understand, what exactly it is doing :confused: Any help would be useful for me. Lokesha (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Lokesha
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers