Sponsored Content
Special Forums UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers How do I create desktop icons for the shell programs I create??? Post 18276 by TRUEST on Tuesday 26th of March 2002 01:25:30 PM
Old 03-26-2002
How do I create desktop icons for the shell programs I create???

I am a bash shell programmer and I create programs on occasional basis.

Now, I dont want my programs to be run by typing out its name at a command line. I want to make it as user friendly as possible. I want to create icons on the desktop so users can click on it. mind you, I said "desktop icons" not "panel applets".

Also, is there anyway i can design my own icons instead of picking from the list of icons given to me by my operating system which is Linux Red Hat 7.2

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

redhat 7.2 icons on desktop

Hello all, Is there a way to change the behavior of the gnome desktop manager so that when your iconify a window it will be place on the desktop intead on on the task manager (gnome-panel)? It gets confusing having to loook throught the gnome-panle for the window I want when you have alot of... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: larry
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Create Alias on Desktop

Hi, I just need a simple UNIX command to send out over ARD that will create an alias to an application and place it on the desktop. Thanks (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: yodomino6
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to create and remove desktop icons from shell scripts

hi all how to create and remove desktop icons or icons from shell scripts? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: kkpal
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

how to create a shell

hi , this is girish, i need an help for creating a shell (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: mcgirishbabu
2 Replies

5. Homework & Coursework Questions

Create script to add user and create directory