Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Nmap
Special Forums Cybersecurity Nmap Post 17517 by DPAI on Saturday 16th of March 2002 03:28:23 PM
Old 03-16-2002
Nmap

I am pretty new at running nmap ,and i have some doubt about some o/ps the nmap shows

I tried to scan my own system for UDP open ports

I see that if i use one UDP port say 13
It shows that its in open state , etc

But if i scan for the whole UDP ports in the nmap-services . I gives te number of ports open as in a filtered state .

Can some one explain me why this is so .

(I GUARANTEE THAT I AM TRYING TO FIND OPEN PORTS FOR MY OWN SYSTEM HERE )

DP

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

nmap results

Hi, Whenever I tried to run nmap on my linux (red hat 6.2) boxes i got these outputs: 4444/tcp filtered krb524 6666/tcp filtered irc-serv 6699/tcp filtered napster 8888/tcp filtered sun-answerbook Can anybody please... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: necro
10 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Nmap PHP FE

Hi everyone! I've temporarily come out of hibernation (and will be gone for about two weeks after this post too) to ask for input on a small PHP script I have just completed. The script aims to be a remote front-end for Nmap - now for the safety of this post, I ask that any replies refrain from... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: Karma
6 Replies

3. AIX

nmap on aix 5.2

I'm trying to compile nmap 4.11 on an aix 5.2 machine and get the following error when attempting the 'make' command; make "Makefile", line 1: make: 1254-055 Dependency line needs colon or double colon operator. "Makefile", line 14: make: 1254-055 Dependency line needs colon or double colon... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: zuessh
2 Replies

4. Red Hat

To change of port name in nmap