Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Cal command
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Cal command Post 1750 by Neo on Wednesday 28th of March 2001 08:59:23 PM
Old 03-28-2001
The cal command accepts numbers for months versus names. If you want otherwise you might consider writing a wrapper script that takes the different text inputs for months, maps the text forms (mar, March, Mar, march, etc.) to the number (in this case 3) and sends it to the cal utility.

This wrapper script could be written in a few minutes, don't you think?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. AIX

doubt in cal command

I am new to unix... How to get all the saturdays of a specific year? for a specific month, i tried as below.. cal 02 2006 | awk '{print $7}' but it is not giving all saturdays.... can anyone help me with this? Thanks in advance, Sumi (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: sumi
9 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Julian Dates and the Cal command

hey all, I was wondering if it was possible to get the julian date with the cal command. I know that the "-j" option will display it, however, i need the Julian Date of a specific date, in number. For example, the User would enter their age like 19800101 or YYYMMDD, like so. This info... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: shan2on
0 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

cal command display issues

I am using AIX version 5.3 I like the cal function because I can print a nice concise view of the calendar for the whole year. I want the calendar to display with 3 months across instead of 2, which is what is happening. My terminal display is set with 67 rows and 140 columns so that should... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: ruddydaggerwing
0 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

parsing return from cal command