Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Starting up with a different user Post 17146 by xNYx on Monday 11th of March 2002 05:24:00 PM
Old 03-11-2002
Question Starting up with a different user

Hi,

I am a newbie to linux and hopefully you guys can hlep me.

I installed tomcat and I created a script by ln -s /xyz........ tomcat. When I restart the server it startup but it start up with root. I created a new user and group also called tomcat. I want tomcat to be the owner of tomcat when it startup automatically.

Any ideas of how I can accomplish this task?

Thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Starting up

:confused: I have put together an old machine with a 386DX CPU (40MHz) with 8Mb of RAM and a 160Mb hard disk. One guy told me that its still suitable for UNIX. Can enyone give me some hints on how to start? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: msm
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

starting a server

i am currently am planning to start a webserver to host a community of webpages, but i need help getting started? anyone have any sites or advice for me? thanks! (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: bowlofrice
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Starting X?

I just installed FreeBSD 4.5 and I want to find out how I can start and run X? When I boot I get taken to the command line. Xconfigurator doesn't want to work. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: AMDPwred
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

just starting! got some questions

I just got a book on how to use UNIX but it says to type in your host but what's the name of the host that i type in? And after that where do I get my user id and password for that host?:confused: (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: animae64sm
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Starting over