Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Strange Characters in Filename Post 16780 by yooness on Wednesday 6th of March 2002 10:23:07 PM
Old 03-06-2002
Hi Kristy,

The correct way was:

a) ls -i

b) find . -inum "the number in (a)" -exec mv \{\} 'give it a name' \;

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Lines with strange characters and sed...

Dear All: I Have a bunch of files which I'd like to process with a shell script. The problem is that the files have strange characters in their headers, like �g�8@L-000-MSG2__-ABCD________-FIRA_____-000001___-200806181330-__ ��e� Data from BLABLABLA, Instrument: BLABLA, Date:... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: luiscarvalheiro
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Strange Characters After Using Notepad

Hello all, I'm new to UNIX and new to this forum, so forgive my lack of knowledge. I'm new with editing in vi so I FTP scripts to a Windows machine and edit the script in notepad (when I need to do something quickly). Sometimes when I FTP the script back to the UNIX box, strange characters... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: dgower2
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk filelist containing strange characters

I've written a script: find -depth | awk ‘ { if ( substr($1,length($0)-2,3) == “/1.” ) { print $1 } { system(“awk -f test1.awk “ $1 ) } } ‘ The idea is that it trundles through a large directory structure looking for files which are named '1.' and then... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: nashcom
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Grep a file that may contain strange characters

Hello unix users :) I am trying to grep a string from a file that both the file and the string may have characters in them that are quite... strange, like würzburger. Well, bash reads this as W%C3%BCrzburger For example, if i do wget W%C3%BCrzburger the output is: --2012-01-08... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: hakermania
2 Replies