Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Where can I download Solaris 8 or any new Unix Software??? Post 14056 by kanang on Monday 28th of January 2002 03:46:00 AM
Old 01-28-2002
prodz & others (including myself),

put them this way. every branded unix system is likely to be dependant on the hardware supplied together with the os. for example ibm aix runs best only on ibm rs6000, sun solaris on sun sparc-based, and hp-ux on hp9000 machines.

this is one of the motivation for linux father "tuan guru" linus tolvard to create a unix system which runs on intel-based machines - the ibm-compatible personal computers.

correct me if this remark misleads. Smilie

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers

download copy of UNIX, SOLARIS, SCO, anything?

Hi All, I'm a UNIX Newbie, yes, I hate to say it. I'm decent enough though on LINUX box. But of course, it's not the same! Does anyone know where I can download a copy of the UNIX network operating system, that I can install on one of my boxes? I'd very much appreciate all suggestions. ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: JaredsNew
2 Replies

2. Solaris

unix/solaris data eraser software

Do anyone know of a data eraser software that I can use on my sun box running solaris that meets the D.O.D 5220.22-m standard (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: cyberbuzz
4 Replies

3. Solaris

how and where can i download sun solaris hpc mpirun software

how and where can i download sun solaris2.8 hpc mprun software?thanks (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jingwp
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Where to download unix not unix flavours like ubuntu, redhat etc.

I checked unix.org but did not find any link where i can download basic unix flavour. any idea from where i can download unix. thanks in advance. - nilesh (14 Replies)
Discussion started by: ynilesh
14 Replies

5. Red Hat

Redhat - Software download