Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Telnet into Solaris 8
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Telnet into Solaris 8 Post 1338 by PxT on Monday 26th of February 2001 05:50:46 PM
Old 02-26-2001
If you are using TCP wrappers to deny the connection, look at /etc/hosts.allow and /etc/hosts.deny. Check out the man page for either of those for more info. If thats not the case, talk to your network admin. Your router or firewall could be blocking connections.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Telnet into Solaris 8 box

I am new to Unix. What file do I need to edit so that I can telnet to Solaris 8. I recieve this message everytime I try to telnet. It allows me to LOGIN but kicks me out with this same message. SunOS 5.8 login: root Password: Not on system console (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: newbie05
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

solaris telnet idle timeout

I have put TMOUT=1800;export TMOUT in the /etc/profile, put it does not work, by the way the root default shell is sh. but I wana every one including root to terminate the session after setting idle for 1800 seconds. thank for the help. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: kahn630
1 Replies

3. Solaris

disable telnet on Solaris

All - would you please some one help me to disable telnet on Solaris? /etc/inetd.conf Thanks :confused: (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: March_2007
11 Replies

4. Solaris

HP-UX telnet to Solaris

Hi, i have a strange problem. i have a HP-UX which is used to telnet to two solaris machine via port 11000. On the solaris machines, there's an application that sends a series of ascii character separated by LF over to the the HP-UX. The problem is that when the HP-UX connects to solaris A,... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: xenomage
2 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Help with telnet using putty on solaris 10 x86