Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Unbelievable pipe bug
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Unbelievable pipe bug Post 12121 by jozsefke on Wednesday 19th of December 2001 01:41:51 PM
Old 12-19-2001
Unbelievable pipe bug

Hi!

Maybe is just because I am a beginner, but I can't imagine, what is the cause of the following problem:

- I have a postinstall script(~17 Kb), which will be called in the following way from an other global installtool:

cat postinstall.sh | sh > /dev/null 2>&1

But somehow not the entire script will be sended through the pipe, and I will get an error:

if [ "$ERROR_CODE" -eq 0 ]
then
# success
exit 0
else
# /bin/sh: syntax error at line 714: 'end of file' unexpected

Of course not this is the end of the script.

I have taked out some comments from the postinstall script, now it has ~14 Kb and now works everything fine.

I have tried out the original script with the above command (cat ...) from the command line, and there everything works. The problem come out not on every computers, so I have checked out the OS versions, but these are the same.

Had somebody before such an error?
What do you thing about it?

Thank you,
Jozsef

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Is it a bug ..?

Hi All, I am using Red Hat Linux on my servers. The problem that I am facing is, sometimes the /opt usage on the server shows used percentage as 100% , when actually it is simply 20%. When I reboot the system, it comes back to 20%.Is this a bug in the system or my settings have gone wrong... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: nua7
1 Replies

2. AIX

bug in 43 ???

xxxxserver# lsattr -El inet0 | grep 255.240.0.0,32.224.0.0,32.78.120.254 | grep '.40' route net,-hopcount,1,-netmask,255.240.0.0,32.224.0.0,32.78.120.254 How this is possible? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: itik
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

where's the bug?