Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: bourne if, then, else
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers bourne if, then, else Post 11782 by thangorn on Wednesday 12th of December 2001 03:15:31 AM
Old 12-12-2001
read $line
case $line in
'K')
Something ;;
'H')
Something ;;
*)
Something else ;;
esac

try something like this
thangorn

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

bourne script help

I need to make a small script that figures out if a filename that the user enters is a file or a directory. and if it is a directory, how many files are in it. please point me to the right direction, I am a newbie at this. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Heedunk
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

bourne shell programming help!

hey, i have 2 files... orders and products how do i do calculations on the order using the products ? say if the products file is: a123:shirt:10.00 zz123:nice shirt:19.95 and the order file is: 05/08/30 a123 10 zz123 3 Jun-3-1994 a123 2 2005.06.23 a123 2 (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ganjakh0r
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Bourne-again shell

Hi guys !! well i'm still new in learning UNIX , and actually i'm still studying it by myself .. anyway, some people told me the Bourne-again shell is a good version of UNIX to work on , and i tried to download yesterday but i didn't know how to start it ...... the ReadMe file associated with... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: mrsamer
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Bourne Script help

Hey guys, I am trying to do a bourne script to look for c files in the current directory. I had it working where it finds the files and asks you to delete them or not, which works, but if there i no files, then it comes up with errors, which iam trying to get rid of. So I thought I would do a if... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Pits
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need Bourne shell tutorial