Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Loop through the lines in a file? Post 11329 by jimmy on Monday 3rd of December 2001 11:47:20 AM
Old 12-03-2001
Question Loop through the lines in a file?

How do I loop through the lines of a file?

Each line of the file will be the name of a server.

Like:
server1.stuff.com
server2.stuff.com

For each server I want to do a secure copy of the file to the other server.

This will be a cron job so I guess it needs to run in just SH. I could be wrong about that also.

THANKS!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Loop through file and write out lines to file(s)

Hi, I am new to ksh scripting so your help will be much appreciated. I have a file called file.txt which looks like this Header 20050702 20050703 ABC DEF Header 20050703 20050704 123 456 Header 20050704 20050705 XXX YYY What I am trying to do is write out each of the record... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: Jtrinh
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

exclude lines in a loop

I use while do - done loop in my shell script. It is working as per my expectations. But I do not want to process all the lines. I am finding it difficult to exclude certain lines. 1) I do not want to process blank lines as well as lines those start with a space " " 2) I do not want to... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: shantanuo
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to use while loop in bash shell to read a file with 4 lines of gap

Hi , I am currently using the while loop in bash shell, as follows. while read line do echo $line done < file.txt However, i want to use the while loop on file.txt, which will read the file with 4 lines of gap. Ex- if file.txt is a file of 100 lines, then i want to use the loop such... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: jitendriya.dash
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Loop through between 2 found lines