Sponsored Content
Special Forums IP Networking troubles networking Windows machines to RH7.1 Linux Post 10963 by shinja31 on Monday 26th of November 2001 12:00:26 PM
Old 11-26-2001
Tools

Hi there,

I have been working on this myself with FreeBSD 4.4. I am new to Unix networking myself this has certainly been a great learning experience!

Definitely check out the documents on Samba.org.

Here are the things I ran into:

- Ping yourself $>ping localhost

If you are unsuccessful, that means that you will need to bind an address to the NIC.

- ping the other PCs

By address and by name. If you cannot by name, you will need to add them to HOSTS. BE sure all PCs are in the same IP range and subnet.

- Make sure that both smdb and nmdb are started. (easy to do if you are using SWAT.

This was my last challenge to seeing the FreeBSD PC from the Windows clients. If nmdb is not running, you will be able to see the Windows PCs but they will not be able to see the Linux PC.

Hope this helps. Good luck!

Steve

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. IP Networking

Networking UNIX with WINDOWS

I am not that great with unix yet, We use them to run our test equipnemt for work. I am now trying to set them all up on the same network (hub) Is there a way that you can make the Windows unit see the Unix Box? I can only transfer file through a FTP program from the Unix to windows. ( This all... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jrb22250
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Networking Linux 2 windows server

How do i network my linux 7 machine to a windows 98 server.I can ping them but how do i see them in explorer and how can i surf in netscape on my linux machine? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: perleo
3 Replies

3. IP Networking

networking linux to windows server