Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Bash tail monitor log file
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Bash tail monitor log file Post 102186 by jim mcnamara on Thursday 16th of March 2006 07:12:54 AM
Old 03-16-2006
How are you doing this manually? The moving file names part....

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

tail -f a log file redirected into a new window?

Is this possible? I am attempting to display a new xterm window and tail -f the log file within that new window. I am currently working on a solaris 8 machine if that has any different meaning than the other platforms. As you can see, I am a newbie to this forum and to UNIX. Any help would be... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: douknownam
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to tail a log file..

Hi All.. I have a log file in which all the backup information is stored. Now i have written a script which get the last line in the backup log file.. ssh -l ora${sid} ${primaryhost} "tail -1 /oracle/$ORACLE_SID/sapbackup/back$ORACLE_SID.log" However i would like to tail the line last... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: suri.tyson
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Piping tail to awk to parse a log file

Hello all, I've got what I'm pretty sure is a simple problem, but I just can't seem to work past it. I'm trying to use awk to pretty up a log file, and calculate a percentage. The log file looks like this: # tail strtovrUsage 20090531-18:15:45 RSreq - 24, RSsuc - 24, RSrun - 78, RSerr -... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: DeCoTwc
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How do I get my script to monitor a new file using tail?