Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Newlines in shell variables
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Newlines in shell variables Post 102116 by tmarikle on Wednesday 15th of March 2006 04:55:01 PM
Old 03-15-2006
By the way, your specific issue is that you do not have quotes around your variable:

Code:
echo "$list" # now see what happens...

This User Gave Thanks to tmarikle For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

variables in shell

hi, i'm new in shell scripting and i'm working on bash on solaris 5.9 after try many stuff with unexpected results, i wonder: it is not posible in bash, to use a variable that was created inside a loop, out of it? i mean, for instance: cat mytext | \ while read text do viko=$text... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: viko
2 Replies

2. OS X (Apple)

Add CRs (newlines)

I have a long file originally created with vi but at some point saved with MS Word. At another time I substituted all occurrences of ^M with XXX. Now I'd like to get this back to vi but with the XXX converted to newline. I'm using whatever version of vim Apple employs. Thanks, Gale (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: Gale Gorman
10 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

$0 shell variables

Would appreciate if someone can explain the ${0##*/} line. What does it do? I am aware that $0 is the script name, $# is number of arguments passed in, $* is all the arguments. With the curly brackets {} added in, what's the eventual effect? Does ${0##*/} actually equals $0$#$*? (something like... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: new2ss
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Ignoring newlines in my search

I have a file that has lines that are deliminated with '^A', but some of the lines go for a few lines and I need those lines to be appended into one line. All of the lines start with 'low debug' and end with ' " 0 '. How can I read each line from start to finish without some of the data... (7 Replies)