Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting I wanted to update a script, more dynamic (just say no to hard coding)... Post 101949 by mr_manny on Tuesday 14th of March 2006 12:03:44 PM
Old 03-14-2006
Perderabo, I owe you...it worked Smilie
thanks,
manny

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

dynamic update of docs

hi, i have some files which r link to the directory and to refer these files there is a html link on my web page At the moment there are only 2 active links. I created a soft link to the original source at very first time, the owner of these documents can change the content and update... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: sushil_d10
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Dynamic update loop query on Sybase database

Hello Guys, I'm new to Shell scripting, and i need someone to help me with this issue: I'm trying to do a dynamic update query on Sysbase database table using shell script. Lets say, the Update query is "update Table set id=X" , where X is dynamic value for the loop index. If the loop is... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: Alaeddin
10 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Sending mails to various users without hard coding the email IDS

Hi Can any one help me out ? I am trying to send an autogenerated mail with an attachment to bulk of users using 'MAILX' and 'UNENCODE' . I have used it as follows X " ( cat /sastemp/body.txt; uuencode Test.xls.gz Test.xls.gz ) | mailx -s 'Testing' ' abcd@yahoo.com , efgh@gmail.com ' " ... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: manas6
9 Replies

4. Programming

char constants vs. hard-coding

This might be a silly question, but I thought I'd ask anyway. If I'm writing in C, isn't it more efficient to, for instance, use constant character variable set to 'A' instead of hard-coding a character 'A'? Since it's only a single character instead of a string, it might not matter much. (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: cleopard
10 Replies