Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers extract from string variable into new variables Post 100933 by Ygor on Thursday 2nd of March 2006 08:19:25 PM
Old 03-02-2006
See previous answer.
At the bash prompt...
Code:
$ var="001 aaabc 44 a bbb12"
$ set $var
$ echo $1

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extract numbers from a string and store in variables

Hi All, Is it possible in Unix shell script to extract numbers from a string containing ".", such as; 5.2.314 And store in variables so; var1 = 5 var2 = 2 var3 = 314 Thanks in advance for any help anyone can provide dave (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: davewg
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to extract variable number from a String

hi,I am new to shell script,I have String,like this: Number of rows exported: 5321 the numbe at end could changing,how can I extract this number and assign it to a variable,then use it later in script. thanks. (19 Replies)
Discussion started by: vitesse
19 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Using GREP to extract variable following a string

Hello, I'm running calculations and I need to extract a specific number from a output file. So far I've only been able to GREP entire lines containing the string: '1 F=' . I would like to go a step further and extract just the number following '1 F='. The entire line looks like: 1 F=... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: modey3
10 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Search for string in a file and extract another string to a variable

Hi, guys. I have one question: I need to search for a string in a file, and then extract another string from the file and assign it to a variable. For example: the contents of the file (group) is below: ... ftp:x:23: mail:x:34 ... testing:x:2001 sales:x:2002 development:x:2003 ...... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: daikeyang
6 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting