Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Top 'user' reaches 100% many times Post 100694 by mercy on Wednesday 1st of March 2006 09:50:24 AM
Old 03-01-2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wexxl
My knowledge about Unix is very limited. How can I determine the current version/ OS?
$ uname -a

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

How to get a mail when the partition reaches 75% in solaris

Hi Every one, I am new to Solaris and i want to know how to get a mail when the partition reaches certain Ex-75% percentage, and how to write shell script. I hope some one will help me. Thanks and Regards, Venkatesh. ##edit#by#moderator## don't post your email address here... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: 1409.venkatesh
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

top's USER column width variation

hello, does anyone know how to expand the column width so it could contain full USER cell and not cut it in top ? Now it has eleven symbols but I can see only eight actualy I found only PID, PPID and %CPU columns variation possibilities in changelog (procps v.3.2.5). thanks in advance. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: bugs_moran
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Number of times a user is "connected"?

hi i wish make a shell to look for the number of times a user is connected then makes a "whatch dog" by crontab to handle this i could do it through ps-fedal| grep user_name | wc-l ... etc. but others suggested me another algorithm :mad: and thought to use w, or finger, or who but it have a... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: edgar287
1 Replies

4. AIX

Switch user(su) two times

Is it possible to switch to root(if allowed) and then with root privileges switch to another user account "ABC"? To further explain the scenario, ABC is an account which has sugroups=su2DEF and root is not part of su2DEF group. but, given that root can switch to any account(correct me if I am... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: mtwain
7 Replies