kernel functions issue!

Operating Systems Linux kernel functions issue!
# 1  
Old 09-30-2008
kernel functions issue!

Hello All,

I'm new to linux programming and this is my first post.I am porting ethernet driver from Linux2.4 to Linux2.6 for Xscale, after modifications I am able to install the driver.
Now when i assign the address to my device using ifconfig, kenerl is going to panic. Stack trace is showing it is due to NULL pointer dereference in recalc_sigpending(). Replacing it by signal_pending(current) saves that. I could not figure out te difference, since both will ultimately access only one kernel data structure i.e. current.
Could anyone please throw light onto it?

I have given relevant details hopefully, but if some important information is missing, please point out. I would improve in my subsequent posts.

Thanks in advance for any help.
Login or Register to Ask a Question

Previous Thread | Next Thread

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to execute functions or initiate functions as command line parameters for below requirement?

I have 7 functions those need to be executed as command line inputs, I tried with below code it’s not executing function. If I run the ./script 2 then fun2 should execute , how to initiate that function I tried case and if else also, how to initiate function from command line if then... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: saku
8 Replies

2. Ubuntu

How to run kernel functions in a separate core?

Hello Friends, I am using Ubundu. I want to know how to run kernel functions in a separate core? I know about Taskset and it supports only for the application. Do anybody know any command (or) have any idea about how to do it? Please help me Thank you (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: reksss
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Kernel Compilation Issue