Environment file in Perl

Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Environment file in Perl
# 1  
Old 05-02-2013
Environment file in Perl

hi all,

i am new to perl scripting environment. i want to view the .env file. where'z the location of .env/.profile file in perl env.

Please suggest..

---------- Post updated at 10:53 AM ---------- Previous update was at 10:51 AM ----------

here is the path variable value:

bash-2.05$ echo $PATH
/home/dwhfeed:/usr/local/ActivePerl/bin:/opt/SUNWspro/bin:/apps/oracle/product/10.2.0.4.2012Q1/bin:/apps/oracle/product/10.2.0.4.2012Q1/ctx/bin:/bin:/opt/bin:/usr/ccs/bin:/usr/ucb:/usr/local/bin:.
# 2  
Old 05-02-2013
In perl, there's a special hash variable %ENV that has all the environment information in it.
For e.g., to know what's in the PATH, do this in perl:
Code:
print "$ENV{PATH}";

To know what more information is present in %ENV variable, try this on your command line:
Code:
perl -le 'for(keys %ENV) { print "$_ : $ENV{$_}" }'

# 3  
Old 05-02-2013
i had already tried this:
Code:
bash-2.05$ print "$ENV{PATH}"
bash: print: command not found

please suggest

Last edited by Franklin52; 05-02-2013 at 03:18 AM.. Reason: Please use code tags
# 4  
Old 05-02-2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovelysethii
i had already tried this:
Code:
bash-2.05$ print "$ENV{PATH}"
bash: print: command not found

please suggest
Try that in your perl script:
Code:
#! /usr/bin/perl
print "$ENV{PATH}";

Login or Register to Ask a Question

Previous Thread | Next Thread

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to change Linux Terminal environment variable in a perl or bash script?

Hi, I meet an problem that it cannot change Terminal environment variable in a perl or bash script. This change can only exist and become effective in script lifetime. But I want to make this change take effect in current opened Terminal. In our view, the thought seems to be impossible, As... (9 Replies)