OBJS=auto.o debug.o

CXX=g++

#HOSTFLAG=-DLinux
HOSTFLAG=-DSunOS

# Do not use compiler optimizer -O as this may break the program
# Use debug flag to enable the debug() function. If DEBUG is not
# defined than the function debug() is set to void(), similar
# to assert()
# Use options -Wall (all warning msgs) -O3 (optimization)
MYCFLAGS=-DDEBUG -g -Wall
#MYCFLAGS=-O3 -Wall

all: $(OBJS)
$(CXX) $(HOSTFLAG) $(MYCFLAGS) $(OBJS) -o $(EXE)

$(OBJS): $(SRCS)
$(CXX) -c $(HOSTFLAG) $(MYCFLAGS) $(SRCS)

clean:
rm -f *.o *.log *.log.old *.pid core err a.out afiedt.buf
rm -f $(EXE)

[CODE/]

i would like to modify this Makefile so that it could be used across platform and procudes appropriate executable for each platform. I've never done anything like this before so please help me. this is an urgent need.

Thank you in advance.
# 2  
Old 09-17-2004
Thank you so much, that helped a lot!

cheers! (it's the weekend) Smilie
Login or Register to Ask a Question

Previous Thread | Next Thread

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Multichecks across all unix platforms

Can somebody refer me following multicheck to perform across most of unix platform like AIX, HP-UX, solaris, Linux. CPU utilization above X% Check IO above X% Swap usage check above X% Memory utilization above X% ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sendtoshailesh
3 Replies

2. Homework & Coursework Questions

Help with Simple Multi-Level Makefile (Extremely New at Makefile)

Use and complete the template provided. The entire template must be completed. If you don't, your post may be deleted! 1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data: Basically, the prompt is make a makefile with various sub makefiles in their respective subdirectories. All code... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Tatl
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Makefile executing another Makefile first?