Newbie: The UNIX Login process

Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Newbie: The UNIX Login process
# 1  
Old 10-04-2002
Newbie: The UNIX Login process

I'm a complete newbie to UNIX so bear with me please...

I would like to get a description or process flow of a typcial UNIX loging process....for example, from the moment someone inputs their ID and password to final access. What are the files and order in which they are accessed? How does the Passwd, Shadow Passwd, Group, etc. files all interact in this process. Is there a site where I can see a description or better yet, a visual flow diagram of the process.

Any help would be greatly appreciated....thanks in advance!

Smilie
# 2  
Old 10-04-2002
The man pages give a fairly good description.

$ man login

$ man passwd
$ man -s 4 shadow
# 3  
Old 10-07-2002
These are very basic questions that you can find easily with a www.google.com search. Or you can search this site for "tutorials", and "newbie" information. You will find a plethora of threads.

As stated before, the man page for login offers much.

Smilie Smilie

Login or Register to Ask a Question

Previous Thread | Next Thread

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Change login process

Hello everybody ! At the beginning - I hope everything will be understandable as I know that my english skills are not as good as I would like. I use Manjaro Linux for one year, previously used Ubuntu for 6 years. Today I got an idea to create small USB electronic device but I don't know how... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: halfboy
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Newbie Question: Killing a process using a supplied name to a shell script