C++(Project SizingLabs) - question

Top Forums Programming C++(Project SizingLabs) - question
# 1  
Old 02-05-2007
C++(Project SizingLabs) - question

We are working on a new benchmark tool called SizingLabs, This is my last year as a Mct Student and to pass this year i need to work 4 months with 8 other students non stop on this project. I am responsible for creating a tool for a unix system that collects system (performance) information and send that information to a server socket.

I am a mere beginner in creating tools in c++.( I am familiar with Visual basic.net(server-client ,wmi..) Asp.net Java(server-client chess game) and JSP(forum)).

My question is can i use Visual C++ to create an unix tool, and if i can what kind of project should i best choose, if i cant what code developer tool should i use then.

thnx for your time Smilie

for those who can read Dutch here you have an explanation of our project SizingLabs
# 2  
Old 02-05-2007
Visual C++ is a micro$oft product, it wont run on unix unless you do lots of crazy porting of your own, but there is a tool called Qt with many classes available for you to use from sockets to graphics ...
# 3  
Old 02-05-2007
thnx for the info just what i needed, and so fast reply in less than 5 mins Smilie
# 4  
Old 02-06-2007
question, are there maybe other developer tools than qt for unix systems ? because i cant seem to get the open source version of qt installend on XP (when i do configure -platform it keeps asking me to do that again) Smilie
# 5  
Old 02-07-2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by andryk
Visual C++ is a micro$oft product, it wont run on unix unless you do lots of crazy porting of your own, but there is a tool called Qt with many classes available for you to use from sockets to graphics ...

Interesting! Smilie

I just thought MS VC++ would never run on any of the unix/linux flavours

Really!

Quite surprising!!!
# 6  
Old 02-07-2007
Quote:
Interesting!