File system damaged

Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers File system damaged
# 1  
Old 04-05-2004
Data File system damaged

Dear All

One partition with HTFS File system on SCO UNix 5.0.5 has got damaged and its not getting mounted. While running FSCK, getting "phase 0 error on reply.log" . Is there any other way to repair a damaged file system and to mount the same. Please help...
# 2  
Old 04-12-2004
I am an HPUX admin not SCO, so I will offer this advice...

Either use google or go to a SCO site and look up that error... My guess is that if you cant get fsck to work you will have a bad disk.

Generally if you can't do a full fsck your disk is bad. check to see if there is a way to force the filesystem to mount so you can save what data is there to get.

good luck!

Login or Register to Ask a Question

Previous Thread | Next Thread

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Red Hat

How to start Fedora 11 in command line mode and skip damaged programs ??

Hi All, Please let me know that how to start Fedora 11 in command line mode and skip damaged programs ?? Scenario being: I have Fedora 11 ( pretty ole... eh !! ). If I try to start the PC , then after some steps of startup... it just hangs and does not boots. I tried entering the mode... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: dipanchandra
4 Replies

2. Linux

Binary files damaged after attack on the server

Hello, a few days ago (June 19) a server that I manage has suffered an attack. Analyzing the log I discovered that there were several attempts to access a web scanner called w00tw00t.at.ISC.SANS.DFind I set the firewall to prevent further visits from this scanner. The problem is that the... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: viessenetwork
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Problem with damaged hard drive during bootup