deleting symbols and characters between two words

Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting deleting symbols and characters between two words
# 1  
Old 02-12-2009
deleting symbols and characters between two words

Hi
Please tell me how could i delete symbols, whitespaces, characters, words everything between two words in a line. Let my file is
Code:
aaa BB ccc ddd eee FF kkk xxx
123456 BB 44^& iop FF 999
xxx uuu rrr BB hhh nnn FF 000

I want to delete everything comes in between BB and FF( deletion includes both the words too i.e. BB and FF) . so that the required output should be

Code:
aaa kkk xxx
123456 999
xxx uuu rrr 000

Last edited by rbatte1; 06-27-2016 at 05:41 AM.. Reason: Code tags
# 2  
Old 02-12-2009
Try this

Code:
sed -e "s/ BB.*FF//g" infile

Last edited by rbatte1; 06-27-2016 at 05:41 AM.. Reason: Code tags
# 3  
Old 02-12-2009
Code:
 sed  's/BB.*FF //' file

You should take a look at: I'm new to Unix. Which books should I read? - The UNIX and Linux Forums
And learn how to use [code] tags Smilie
# 4  
Old 02-12-2009
Hey thanx friends.. This works for me
Thanks a lott
Smilie
Login or Register to Ask a Question

Previous Thread | Next Thread

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Deleting a list of words from a text file

Hello, I have a list of words separated by spaces I am trying to delete from a text file, and I could not figure out what is the best way to do this. what I tried (does not work) : delete="password key number verify" arr=($delete) for i in arr { sed "s/\<${arr}\>]*//g" in.txt } >... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Hawk4520
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using key words or symbols to determine parser