chmod and cgi correlation

Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers chmod and cgi correlation
# 1  
Old 12-01-2003
Question chmod and cgi correlation

How much do chmod settings affect cgi scripts?? I have a "webmaster" at my work that says I cannot change the permissions on the cgi scripts, and that they work with only certain permissions.

They are set for 644, I want to change them to 775 and put her in her own group, like she should be, not with roo access.

Anybody help me? Thanks!!
# 2  
Old 12-01-2003
I have cgi scripts with 755 - under different owners/groups.

If I change one to 644, it does not work since it is no longer executable. User nobody should be the uid for anyone hitting the web page/executing the cgi script. That is why 755 is needed. You could change it to 645 and it would work.

Are you confusing chmod with chown/chgrp? You mention putting her in a different group with no root access?
# 3  
Old 12-01-2003
The server was not orginally setup correctly. She should be in a group, special privilage group or some other, and have her log in thru her user name and not the root user.

We are a very small company, less than 50 full-time, and have recently had an email sceurity issue.

The server needs to be setup correctly, and she is giving me every excuse not to change anything on the webserver, i.e. if i change the permissions for the cgi scripts to 775, so that she can access the from a group, she would have to re-write the scripts to fix the permissions change.

Everything that I have read thus far and been told, says that that is pig swallow. I'm just trying to find out. I don't want to change the permissions and the websites (VPS) go down.

I hope I've made myself clear, and I thank you for your understanding and quick response!
# 4  
Old 12-01-2003
Quote:
She should be in a group, special privilage group or some other, and have her log in thru her user name and not the root user.