Network / Xterm keyboard

Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Network / Xterm keyboard
# 1  
Old 07-27-2005
Network / Xterm keyboard

Hi. I'm pretty new to unix, but I was wondering if there was a way to either through xterm or other use a network keyboard?

what I would like to be able to do is open an xterm on another computer and then have my keyboard input from the server displayed in that xterm. Im sure this is posible. For instance I could right I driver for the second computer that tells it to get it's keyboard from the network jack, but this seems very cumbersom. Is there any easy way to do this?

Last edited by Winzernotman; 07-28-2005 at 04:29 PM..
# 2  
Old 07-28-2005
I'm afraid your question doesn't make alot of sense. 'xterm' is an X11 terminal application which can be run in a graphical environment once you are logged onto a machine.

Perhaps you could clarify?
# 3  
Old 07-28-2005
Sorry for the confusion. I sort of combined two tracks I was thinking along. What I want is a setup where I type on a keyboard on one computer and the output shows up on another. I know there are programs like xmx that have redundant displays, but that is not what I'm trying to do. There were two ways I thought there might be a solution:

1. The Hardware (sort of) Solution: I thought it might be posible to do something like define the default keyboard as the device file of another computer. I am new, so I don't know exactly how I'd do it, but i could mount a network path as the /dev file.
Along the same line I thought it might be posible to define the monitor as an aditional local display monitor somehow and use it that way(It is actually atached by a serial cable as well as cat 5).