install question

Operating Systems AIX install question
# 1  
Old 08-28-2008
install question

Hi,

I am a newbie here:

Can any one suggest me how to install a bff package to a desired location on an AIX box? I checked the man page for installp, it does not seem to have this information(Did I miss it?) for installing a package to a directory of user's choice.

Thanks for any help regarding this.
# 2  
Old 08-28-2008
Depending on what installp is supposed to do by the package creator changing the destination might be a bad idea. However in case no scripting action is involved, e.g. just plain filesets in the package you could simply use restore to extract the backup format file and move the filesets then. You won't be able to reject, uninstall, update the package with installp later though, if you treat the installation like a tarball.
# 3  
Old 09-01-2008
Thanks for your reply.

I have one more question. How do I package it in such a way on AIX, so that the destination can be changed at install time.

For example, on solaris this can be handled by one of the packaging scripts "request"

Similarly, rpm seems to have a prefix option for installing the package to a desired location on linux and on HPUX machines too, the request script can be used while installing a depot to instruct where the package should get installed.

Can this be handled on AIX?? Do we have one such packaging script which instructs the .bff file at installation time to install the package to a specific location?

-JStone.
# 4  
Old 09-01-2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by JStone
[...]How do I package it in such a way on AIX, so that the destination can be changed at install time.[...] Similarly, rpm seems to have a prefix option for installing the package to a desired location on linux and on HPUX machines too, the request script can be used while installing a depot to instruct where the package should get installed.

Can this be handled on AIX??[...]