Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris Find memory usage for a process Post 303001775 by bakunin on Friday 11th of August 2017 04:10:36 AM
Old 08-11-2017
Notice that Oracle relies heavily on shared memory: in addition to listing all the processes for the database you need to issue a ipcs -m th display the shared memory segments and analyse what you get there.

I am no Oracle expert but i recall vaguely that any Oracle instance will allocate only a certain amount of memory for all its processes and this value is configurable. I am not sure, anyhow, if this value is the SGA, the PGA or whatever - check this with the DBAs, they should know. It might be easier to do this than to list and add and analyse some OS-output.

I hope this helps.

bakunin
This User Gave Thanks to bakunin For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

how to restrict memory usage by a process

we are running red hat ES4 and i would like to know if there is anyway of restrcting the maximum amount of memory that a process can get? I have a single preocess that is taking >13GB. Thanks, Frank (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: frankkahle
4 Replies

2. Solaris

RAM Physical Memory usage by each Process.

Hi All, I am trying to find the physical memory usage by each process/users. Can you please let me know how to get the memory usage?. Thanks, bsraj. (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: bsrajirs
12 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Memory usage of a process

hi all, i want to write a script that checks the memory usage of processes and send a mail with the name of the process witch is using more then 300mb RAM. dose anybody have a sample script or an idea how i can make it ? PROCCESSES="snmpd sendmail" for myVar in $PROCCESSES do ... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: tafil
7 Replies

4. HP-UX

how can I find cpu usage memory usage swap usage and logical volume usage