Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Merge multiple lines into a single line Post 303000112 by dwdnet on Tuesday 4th of July 2017 01:01:46 PM
Old 07-04-2017
Merge multiple lines into a single line

Hi all, I'm relatively new to scripting, I can do pretty basic things. I have a daily log file that looks like:

Code:
timestamp=2017-06-28-01.01.35.080576;
     event status=0;
     userid=user1;
   authid=user1;
     application id=10.10.10.10.11111.12345678901;
     application name=GUI;

timestamp=2017-06-28-01.01.36.096486;
     event status=0;
     userid=user1;
     authid=user1;
     application id=10.10.10.10.11111.12345678901;
     application name=GUI;
     statement text=SELECT table.field, table.field, table.field from database where table.field = value

There is a blank line between each log entry. I need to combine each log entry into one line and preferably remove the final semi-colon if there is one. I'm guessing that awk or sed could help. I've asked elsewhere, still no luck. Hopefully someone can help me out here.

Last edited by vbe; 07-04-2017 at 02:31 PM.. Reason: code tags...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Removing end of line to merge multiple lines

I'm sure this will be an easy question for you experts out there, but I have been searching the forum and working on this for a couple hours now and can't get it right. I have a very messy data file that I am trying to tidy up - one of the issues is some records are split into multiple lines: ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: tink
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Merge multi-lines into one single line

Hi, Can anyone help me for merge the following multi-line log which beginning with a number and time: into one line. For each line need to delete the return and add a space. Please see the red color line. *****Original Log*****... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: happyday
4 Replies