Sponsored Content
Top Forums Programming A straightforward Python question. Post 302996049 by jim mcnamara on Tuesday 18th of April 2017 09:00:18 AM
Old 04-18-2017
Consider the phedd link - there are a lot of sites with command line bc formulas, for example fft solutions. bc originally was meant to do extended precision floating point from extensive scripts, as well as one-off fp math operations. Don't sell it short.

If you want portability and you do not want to have to verify/install perl's MATH:: for every UNIX installation, bc is the correct approach, IMO.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

NEWBIE QUESTION: python 3 or 2.6.x

I'm a newbie and want to learn a programming language, willy-nilly I picked python... Should I go with 2.6.x which at first glance seems extremely well documented, or should I go with 3.0, which is new and shiny?! I want...no...I'm going to NEED fantastic documentation or I'm going to fail... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: guptaxpn
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

modify ls -l (long listing format output) strictly using SED only straightforward goalhard 4 me doh

Below is a sample out of ls -l which I would like to rearrange or modify by field numbers for example I successfully managed to disect using simple paragraph however for ls -l I can't divide the rows or fields by field number. Successful modification by fields using SED sample: $ sed -e... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: wolf@=NK
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Python Newbie Question Regex

I starting teaching myself python and am stuck on trying to understand why I am not getting the output that I want. Long story short, I am using PDB for debugging and here my function in which I am having my issue: import re ... ... ... def find_all_flvs(url): soup =... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: metallica1973
1 Replies

4. Programming

General question about learning Python