Sponsored Content
Special Forums Windows & DOS: Issues & Discussions How to run UNIX alias from plink? Post 302993753 by Ivanhou8219 on Tuesday 14th of March 2017 05:59:12 AM
Old 03-14-2017
How to run UNIX alias from plink?

Hi,
I am new to unix and plink in general. I want to run plink.exe on windows to execute alias command on unix. Is it possible? I can run simple unix commands from plink for ex:
Code:
plink.exe -pw mypass myusername@hostip touch filename

It successfully creates the "filename" file on the hostip host.
But if I create an alias for it:
Code:
myusername>alias createfile='touch mm'

and I run from plink:
Code:
plink.exe -pw mypass myusername@hostip createfile

it returns: ksh: createfile: not found
I tried also:
Code:
plink.exe -pw mypass myusername@hostip -s createfile

result was: FATAL ERROR: Server refused to start a shell/command

So how can I run alias commands within plink?

Thanks,
Ivanhou

Moderator's Comments:
Mod Comment Please use CODE tags as required by forum rules!

Last edited by RudiC; 03-14-2017 at 07:35 AM.. Reason: Added CODE tags.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

unix question: user supplied input for 'alias'

I have a program to scan the log files and I want to pipe the output to 'less'. I want to create an alias such that following are equivalent scanlog chunky.lst = /udd/n2man/utils/scanlog chunky.lst|less where chunky is user supplied file which can change. Is this possible as an alias or... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ospreyeagle
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Plink connections to multiple unix servers

Hi, I have a simple windows batch file which connects to a UNIX server and runs a shell script in my home directory on the server. It works perfectly, using plink + ssh keys in the background. What I plan to do is expand this batch file to connect to multiple servers and execute one script... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Moxy
2 Replies