Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Script reading needed
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Script reading needed Post 302848013 by jefferj54 on Wednesday 28th of August 2013 09:53:16 AM
Old 08-28-2013
Script reading needed

Hi,
I'm just learning so I would appreciate some understanding line by line on the while loop/case script below.

Thanks so much.

joe.

Code:
echo "Good Morning."
echo "Enter 1 to Add"
echo "or q to quit."
while [ "$Enter" != "q" ]
do
   read Enter
   case $Enter in
      1) echo "Addtion:"
         echo "Enter a number"
         read num1
         echo "Enter another number"
         read num2
         sum=$((num1 + num2))
         echo "sum=$sum."
         ;;
      q) exit;;
   esac
   echo "Enter another or q to quit"
done

Last edited by vbe; 08-28-2013 at 10:57 AM.. Reason: code tags - indents

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Reading Input in a Script

#!/usr/bin/sh echo "Enter reason:" echo "> \c" read $reason $reason >> access.log This doesnt work for me. Can someone tell me how I would read the input from what the person types, and then append that to the log file? Regards (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: alwayslearningunix
2 Replies

2. Programming

Reading a file into a C++ script

Hi, I'm trying to read a file in with and assigne the stream to a char * type. I've manged it using the cin.get returning type char, but am having run-time problems returning a char *. For example, char *pStream = "file.txt"; ifstream from(pStream); from.open(pStream); ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Breen
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

script to reading a file

hi, I have a file containing names, say n number of names, sample file robin smith dallas frey cook all these names are in a file name called names.txt and it is placed in a directory called /data/names all i want is to write a script, which will read from the file and gives the... (3 Replies)