Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux Red Hat Os not coming up after i set mount -o remount,rw /dev/hda8 Post 302768253 by RudiC on Friday 8th of February 2013 07:43:47 AM
Old 02-08-2013
Have you read and understood fsck's upfront output?
Not knowing what it output before, and taking into account that this is your /tmp file system, i.e. a data loss were not disastrous, I'd reply: "yes" - at your own risk!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How Do I set up a UNix dev environment

Hello, I am totally new to Unix. My current contract requires me to build an intranet site (nothing fancy, no forms, no cgi scripts, no search engine) for a unix platform. I develop on an NT environment using dreamweaver. I am considering buying Red Hat Linux, install that on the NT... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: alam
1 Replies

2. Solaris

mount: /dev/dsk/c0t6d0s0 no such device

I've searched through unix.com and google for this issue I am having on one particular Sun E280R with installing netbackup software from CD. I know the cd is good because i installed the software on 4 other servers right before this one. This is the issue I am seeing. vold does not mount the CD... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: dangral
2 Replies

3. Solaris

What is /dev/tty /dev/null and /dev/console

Hi, Anyone can help My solaris 8 system has the following /dev/null , /dev/tty and /dev/console All permission are lrwxrwxrwx Can this be change to a non-world write ?? any impact ?? (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: civic2005
12 Replies

4. AIX

Can't mount showing 0506-342 The superblock on /dev/fslv00 is dirty

Dear All Last day in Aix 5.2 server by executing # df –g I found following: Filesystem GB blocks Free %Used Iused %Iused Mounted on . . /dev/fslv00 58.00 136.70 -135% 212103 1% /sprod After shutting down by following command # shutdown –h And when... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: xa52000
1 Replies

5. Solaris

remount not working