Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Using grep but printing a line more than once Post 302759293 by evelibertine on Tuesday 22nd of January 2013 03:01:17 AM
Old 01-22-2013
Using grep but printing a line more than once

Hi,

I am using the grep function to grep some lines from a text file. However, a line is grepped only once even if it matches the strings in the first file more than once. How can i change the code so that the line gets printed more than once?

Input file 1:
Code:
1 o p
1 a b
2 3 c
5 6 7

Input file 2:
Code:
o a c

Desired Output:
Code:
1 o p 
1 a b
2 3 c

Thanks!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help in sed command [ printing a pattern + its line no or line no alone ]

Hello friends, Only very recently i started learning sed command...an i found that sed is faster in finding the patterns than some of my scripts that uses grep to check the patten inside a file using line by line search method which is time consuming. The below script... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: frozensmilz
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help required on grep command(Skip the first few lines from printing in the output)

Hi experts I want the proper argument to the grep command so that I need to skip the first few lines(say first 10 lines) and print all the remaining instances of the grep output. I tried to use grep -m 10 "search text" file*. But this gives the first 10 instances(lines) of the search string.... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: ks_reddy
7 Replies

3. Programming

Line printing.

#include <iostream> int main() { int x=0; int y=1000; while(x<1000) { x++, y--; system("clear"); printf("\n%d\n%d", x,y); fflush(stdout); } return 0; } Without clearing the screen every time, how can i print 'x' and 'y' in the same spot? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: cbreiny
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting