Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: elseif in csh
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting elseif in csh Post 302434302 by kristinu on Friday 2nd of July 2010 05:30:15 AM
Old 07-02-2010
"elseif" or "else if" in csh

I have been using the if statement in csh like this

Code:
if ( $opt1 == 1 ) then

elseif ( $opt2 == 1 ) then

endif

Seems to work, but got

Badly placed ()'s.

When I used a space in the elseif, a space between the 'else' and the 'if' it worked

Code:
if ( $opt1 == 1 ) then

else if ( $opt2 == 1 ) then

endif

Any idea why the thing sometimes works and sometimes not???

Last edited by kristinu; 07-02-2010 at 11:26 AM.. Reason: Clarification

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

csh failing to call an 2 embedded csh script

I have an extraordinary problem with a csh script.....(feel free to berate the use of this but I'm modifying an existing bunch of them) Anyway, I have a master csh script which in turn calls a second csh script. This second csh script is below. Within this second script are two compiled C++... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: pollsizer
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

csh

what is a .csh extension? there is a command line: mkaphed_ctio.csh Does anyone know what this is? :confused::confused::confused: (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: cosmologist
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Awk if elseif syntax error

Below is the code. nawk -F "|" 'FNR==NR{a=$3 OFS $4 OFS $5 OFS $6;next} {\ if ($5 in a)\ {print $1,"ABC",$5,"I",a, $2,$3,$4 OFS OFS OFS OFS OFS OFS OFS OFS $2"-"$3"-"$4} ; \ elseif ($5=="g")\ print $1,"ABC",$5,"I",$5 OFS OFS OFS OFS $2,$3,$4 OFS OFS OFS OFS OFS... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: pinnacle
8 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

if in csh