Shell backup script modification

Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Shell backup script modification
# 1  
Old 12-12-2017
Shell backup script modification

so I'm using this shell script someone made to backup data on a server in an archive (gpg encrypted) and upload to an FTP (meant to be run as a cron job daily). can one of the experts here confirm if the script is fine?

It is meant to backup the folder /opt and the sql data
i want to know how I can add multiple folders to the backup? Like /var, /opt, /etc ?

and I cant find any sql authentication details in the script. Is it able to backup the whole sql without requiring sql login?

i have no experience with shell, sorry.

Code:
#!/bin/sh

set -e
set -u

PATH='/usr/local/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/bin:/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin'
export PATH

#
# Configuration:
#
source_dir='/opt' 
ftp_server='IP'
ftp_user='backup'
ftp_pass='pass'
gpg_pass='s3cret'

temp_dir="$(mktemp -d '/tmp/.daily-backup.XXXXXX')"
trap 'rm -rf "$temp_dir"' INT TERM EXIT
sql_file="$temp_dir/db.sql"
backup_file="$temp_dir/daily-$(date +'%F-%H-%M-%S').tar"

cd "$source_dir"
tar -cf "$backup_file" dailybackup*
cd "$OLDPWD"

mysqldump --quick --single-transaction --all-databases > "$sql_file"
tar -rf "$backup_file" -C "${sql_file%/*}" "${sql_file##*/}"

gpg --yes --batch --passphrase="$gpg_pass" -c $backup_file
rm -f "$backup_file"
backup_file="$backup_file.gpg"

#
# Remove the "-p" option if you don't want to use passive mode:
#
ftp -p -n <<-EOF
	open $ftp_server
	user $ftp_user $ftp_pass
	put $backup_file ${backup_file##*/}
	bye
EOF

# 2  
Old 12-12-2017
I can't find anything immediately wrong.
One caveat is that you think it's backing up /opt but in fact it's /opt/dailybackup*, i.e. all files in /opt starting with that string.
And, reassigning backup_file you may want to use braces to be on the safe side when expanding variables.
For the sql authentication question I don't have an answer...
# 3  
Old 12-12-2017
Quote:
Originally Posted by RudiC